Kiltimagh or Coillte Maghach

Historical facts about Kiltimagh

The correct name in Gaelic is Coillte Maghach (or Coillte Mach) – The Woods of Maghach.
Maghach was a chieftain of the Fir Bolg, the earliest Celtic people to colonise Bronze Age Ireland. The Celts were an Iron Age people, and Irish mythology tells of three Celtic invasions in which the Bronze Age culture was replaced by the superior Iron Age culture.
The Fir Bolg were defeated by the Tuatha e Danaan (the second wave of Iron Age Celts) at the Battle of Moytura, south-west of modern Kiltimagh. Maghach, one of the defeated chieftains, sought refuge on Mount Sliabh Cairn, which was forested at the time, i.e. Coillte Maghach. After his death, he was buried on the mountain and the area was named after him.
This legend is typical of invasion myths. The story locates the burial of a Celtic chieftain in an area that was ritually important to the preceding culture, i.e. in a Bronze Age cemetery. In this way, the old sacred site was taken over by the new, dominant culture.
Kiltimagh, a picturesque town in the heart of the county, is centrally located for touring the west. Kiltimagh is admired by visitors for its beautiful 19th century craft village, reflected in the shop fronts and market place, and for the many attractions and amenities it offers visitors.
Kiltimagh's central location, attractions and amenities make it an ideal base for touring the West. Kiltimagh is only one hour from Sligo, Galway, Westport and Achill, 20 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock and Foxford Woollen Mills and only 10 minutes from Knock Marian Shrine.
Kiltimagh is rich in history and was the birthplace of Raifteirí - the blind poet. 
If you come to Kiltimagh, you can experience what Irish tradition and culture is all about.
Today's Kiltimagh is the result of the hard work, initiative and ingenuity of the Reverend Denis O'Hara. His first task was to build a new church and 8 state schools in the area. Then, with the help of the Sisters of St Louis, primary and technical schools were established to provide instruction in housekeeping, sewing, carpentry and horticulture to foster a sense of self-reliance and well-being. He was responsible for the city's extensive ring roads, the municipal sewage and gas system, City Hall, Cottage Hospital, People's Park and Factory Field.
Killedan Churchyard
The name derives from Cill Liadain, the Church of Liadan, and not, as Douglas Hyde translated it, Cill Aodain. (O Donovans Letters: 1838). At some time in the 19th century, Franciscan monks, known as the Grey friars, were said to have used this church.

Languages

(image for) Deutsch  (image for) English  

Who's Online

There currently are 4 guests online.
Copyright © 2024 Storyteller. Powered by Zen Cart

Kiltimagh oder Coillte Maghach

Geschichtliches über Kiltimagh

Der korrekte Name im Gälischen lautet Coillte Maghach (oder Coillte Mach) - Die Wälder von Maghach.
Maghach war ein Häuptling der Fir Bolg, des frühesten keltischen Volkes, das das bronzezeitliche Irland besiedelte. Die Kelten waren ein eisenzeitliches Volk, und die irische Mythologie erzählt von drei keltischen Invasionen, bei denen die bronzezeitliche Kultur durch die überlegene eisenzeitliche Kultur ersetzt wurde.
Die Fir Bolg wurden in der Schlacht von Moytura, südwestlich des heutigen Kiltimagh, von den Tuatha e Danaan (der zweiten Welle der eisenzeitlichen Kelten) besiegt. Maghach, einer der besiegten Häuptlinge, suchte Zuflucht auf dem Berg Sliabh Cairn, der damals bewaldet war, d. h. Coillte Maghach. Nach seinem Tod wurde er auf dem Berg begraben, und das Gebiet wurde nach ihm benannt.
Diese Legende ist typisch für Invasionsmythen. Die Geschichte verortet die Bestattung eines keltischen Häuptlings in einem Gebiet, das für die vorangegangene Kultur rituell wichtig war, d. h. in einem bronzezeitlichen Friedhof. Auf diese Weise wurde die alte heilige Stätte von der neuen, dominierenden Kultur übernommen.
Kiltimagh, eine malerische Stadt im Herzen der Grafschaft, liegt zentral für Touren in den Westen. Kiltimagh wird von den Besuchern für sein schönes Handwerkerdorf aus dem 19. Jahrhundert bewundert, das sich in den Fassaden der Geschäfte und auf dem Marktplatz widerspiegelt, sowie für die vielen Attraktionen und Annehmlichkeiten, die es den Besuchern bietet.
Kiltimagh ist mit seiner zentralen Lage, den Attraktionen und Annehmlichkeiten ein idealer Ausgangspunkt für Touren in den Westen. Kiltimagh ist nur eine Stunde von Sligo, Galway, Westport und Achill, 20 Minuten vom Ireland West Airport Knock und den Foxford Woollen Mills und nur 10 Minuten vom Knock Marian Shrine entfernt.
Kiltimagh ist reich an Geschichte und war der Geburtsort von Raifteirí - dem blinden Dichter. 
Kommt man nach Kiltimagh, kann man erleben was die irische Tradition und Kultur ausmacht.
Das heutige Kiltimagh ist das Ergebnis der harten Arbeit, der Initiative und des Einfallsreichtums des Pfarrers Denis O'Hara. Seine erste Aufgabe war der Bau einer neuen Kirche und von 8 staatlichen Schulen in der Region. Dann wurden mit Hilfe der Schwestern von St. Louis Grund- und Fachschulen eingerichtet, um Unterricht in Haushaltsführung, Nähen, Schreinerei und Gartenbau zu erteilen und so ein Gefühl der Selbstständigkeit und des Wohlbefindens zu fördern. Er war verantwortlich für die umfassenden Ringstraßen der Stadt, das städtische Abwasser- und Gassystem, das Rathaus, das Cottage Hospital, den People's Park" und das Factory Field.
Kirchhof von Killedan
Der Name leitet sich von Cill Liadain, der Kirche von Liadan, ab und nicht, wie Douglas Hyde es übersetzt hat, von Cill Aodain. (O Donovans Briefe: 1838). Irgendwann im 19. Jahrhundert sollen Franziskanermönche, die so genannten Grey Friars, diese Kirche genutzt haben.

Sprachen

(Bild für) Deutsch  (Bild für) English  

Wer ist online

Zur Zeit sind 5 Gäste online.
Copyright © 2024 Storyteller. Powered by Zen Cart